Regular VNC Connects, VNC SSH Fails…

Report your issues here

Regular VNC Connects, VNC SSH Fails…

Postby Freakytj » Sat Mar 26, 2011 6:47 pm

I've gotten Remoter to connect whilst using VNC normally without any hitches; now that I am attempting to utilize SSH it fails. SSH connects, but when the app then switches to connect to the VNC after the SSH tunnel it fails.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/55306625@N00/5562590802

Screen snap to show meassage I get on fail. Yet, if I do just regular VNC I connect just fine.
Freakytj
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 6:29 pm

Re: Regular VNC Connects, VNC SSH Fails…

Postby raf » Sat Mar 26, 2011 9:50 pm

Hi - Make sure for the VNC Hostname you are using the private IP/hostname of the computer in your LAN running VNC, and not the public IP address you use for SSH Hostname.

Raf.
raf
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 12:17 am

Re: Regular VNC Connects, VNC SSH Fails…

Postby Freakytj » Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:38 pm

Awesome, Thank you so much Raf! I really appreciate a quick solution; on a side note is there a way to get the "Complete" edition discounted by .99¢? Two reasons for that request: one, purchased the SSH add-on; two, would like to further support you :)

Thank you again for timely and effectively address my issue!

p.s. Is it possible to remove port forwarding of 5900 in my router now that I'm going through SSH?
Freakytj
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 6:29 pm

Re: Regular VNC Connects, VNC SSH Fails…

Postby raf » Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:49 pm

Freakytj wrote:Awesome, Thank you so much Raf! I really appreciate a quick solution; on a side note is there a way to get the "Complete" edition discounted by .99¢? Two reasons for that request: one, purchased the SSH add-on; two, would like to further support you :)

Thank you again for timely and effectively address my issue!

p.s. Is it possible to remove port forwarding of 5900 in my router now that I'm going through SSH?


Great to hear that solved your problem. The next release (under review) helps with this by updating the help for the VNC Hostname / SSH Hostname fields when using VNC over SSH.
Yes!, you don't need to port forward 5900 once you use VNC over SSH, only the SSH port needs to be forwarded.

Raf

PS: Unfortunately, because of the way Apple implements it, I don't have that level of control over the In-App purchases.
raf
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 12:17 am

Re: Regular VNC Connects, VNC SSH Fails…

Postby hamilton » Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:06 pm

I just installed Remoter plus the ssh addon on my iPad (1) and iPhone 3G. The regular VNC connects fine as well as ssh to my laptop - 10.0.0.18. However, when I change the connection type to VNC over SSH I get the following error after the Creating Secure Tunnel disappears.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/10391798/photo%2025.jpg

Do you know how I can fix this?

Thank you.
Bruce
hamilton
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 3:57 pm

Re: Regular VNC Connects, VNC SSH Fails…

Postby raf » Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:14 pm

Make sure you set up the VNC Password field with the correct VNC password.
Raf
raf
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 12:17 am

Re: Regular VNC Connects, VNC SSH Fails…

Postby hamilton » Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:59 pm

raf wrote:Make sure you set up the VNC Password field with the correct VNC password.
Raf


Thank you for your prompt response. I re-enter my information and it connected fine many times. However, once I quit the application and then restarted it the previous error message appeared again. These are my settings for the VNC over SSH from the iPhone.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/10391798/photo%2026.jpg

Here is the console entry for the failed VNC over SSH attempt from the iPhone.

3/28/11 2:58:07 PM Firewall[74] Allow sshd-keygen-wrapper connecting from 10.0.0.130:52222 to port 22 proto=6
3/28/11 2:58:09 PM sshd[4079] in pam_sm_authenticate(): Failed to determine Kerberos principal name.
3/28/11 2:58:09 PM com.apple.SecurityServer[19] Session 0x2067a5 created
3/28/11 2:58:09 PM com.apple.SecurityServer[19] Session 0x2067a5 attributes 0x20
3/28/11 2:58:09 PM sshd[4077] USER_PROCESS: 4080 ttys001
3/28/11 2:58:11 PM sshd[4077] DEAD_PROCESS: 4080 ttys001
3/28/11 2:58:11 PM com.apple.SecurityServer[19] Session 0x2067a5 dead
3/28/11 2:58:11 PM com.apple.SecurityServer[19] Killing auth hosts
3/28/11 2:58:11 PM com.apple.SecurityServer[19] Session 0x2067a5 destroyed

I thought I should add the console entry for the successful VNC (only) from the iPhone.

3/28/11 3:12:18 PM Firewall[4263] Allow smbd connecting from 10.0.0.17:49875 to port 139 proto=6
3/28/11 3:13:18 PM Firewall[4263] Allow smbd connecting from 10.0.0.17:49876 to port 139 proto=6
3/28/11 3:13:43 PM Firewall[4263] Allow AppleVNCServer connecting from 10.0.0.130:52244 to port 5900 proto=6

Thank you.
Bruce
hamilton
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 3:57 pm

Re: Regular VNC Connects, VNC SSH Fails…

Postby raf » Mon Mar 28, 2011 5:49 pm

I see, so this only happens after you close Remoter and re-open it. I wonder if what's happening is (a reported problem that I'm working on) that the password is not getting saved correctly.
Could you try re-entering the password after you restart Remoter, and see if it works then.
If this is in fact the problem, then what happens is that some passwords, when encrypted (as they are before getting saved) don't get saved properly.
I havent been able to recreate the problem myself, as none of the users that have had this problem were willing to share their password with me (I need the actual password string so I can recreate the problem, but I understand as this is sensitive, and people prefer not to share it).
For version 2.1, I'm changing the way sessions get saved to disk completely, so I believe the problem will be solved then, but I won't be sure unless I can actually recreate the problem myself.

Thanks!,

Raf.
raf
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 12:17 am

Re: Regular VNC Connects, VNC SSH Fails…

Postby hamilton » Mon Mar 28, 2011 7:14 pm

raf wrote:I see, so this only happens after you close Remoter and re-open it. I wonder if what's happening is (a reported problem that I'm working on) that the password is not getting saved correctly.
Could you try re-entering the password after you restart Remoter, and see if it works then.
If this is in fact the problem, then what happens is that some passwords, when encrypted (as they are before getting saved) don't get saved properly.
I haven't been able to recreate the problem myself, as none of the users that have had this problem were willing to share their password with me (I need the actual password string so I can recreate the problem, but I understand as this is sensitive, and people prefer not to share it).
For version 2.1, I'm changing the way sessions get saved to disk completely, so I believe the problem will be solved then, but I won't be sure unless I can actually recreate the problem myself.

Thanks!,

Raf.


I tried re-entering the password before connecting and it then connected fine via VNC over SSH. So I think you are correct that the password is not being saved properly.
hamilton
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 3:57 pm

Re: Regular VNC Connects, VNC SSH Fails…

Postby hamilton » Mon Mar 28, 2011 7:14 pm

raf wrote:I see, so this only happens after you close Remoter and re-open it. I wonder if what's happening is (a reported problem that I'm working on) that the password is not getting saved correctly.
Could you try re-entering the password after you restart Remoter, and see if it works then.
If this is in fact the problem, then what happens is that some passwords, when encrypted (as they are before getting saved) don't get saved properly.
I haven't been able to recreate the problem myself, as none of the users that have had this problem were willing to share their password with me (I need the actual password string so I can recreate the problem, but I understand as this is sensitive, and people prefer not to share it).
For version 2.1, I'm changing the way sessions get saved to disk completely, so I believe the problem will be solved then, but I won't be sure unless I can actually recreate the problem myself.

Thanks!,

Raf.


I tried re-entering the password before connecting and it then connected fine via VNC over SSH. So I think you are correct that the password is not being saved properly.

3/28/11 5:13:09 PM Firewall[4263] Allow sshd-keygen-wrapper connecting from 10.0.0.99:49296 to port 22 proto=6
3/28/11 5:13:10 PM sshd[4902] in pam_sm_authenticate(): Failed to determine Kerberos principal name.
3/28/11 5:13:10 PM com.apple.SecurityServer[19] Session 0x4571ed created
3/28/11 5:13:10 PM com.apple.SecurityServer[19] Session 0x4571ed attributes 0x20
3/28/11 5:13:10 PM sshd[4900] USER_PROCESS: 4903 ttys000

I can email you my password combination but I don't want to post it here.

Thanks,
Bruce
hamilton
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 3:57 pm

Next

Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron
cron